Every vehicle in Alaska is required to be registered unless specifically exempted by law.
Registration is documented proof that your vehicle is known to the State of Alaska and has paid all taxes and fees due.
The State of Alaska issues registration for commercial vehicles, passenger vehicles, trucks, buses, vans, ATV's, motorcycles, boats, snow machines and trailers.
If you are working in Alaska or establishing residency, you must apply for registration within 10 days of entering the state or taking a job within the state. A non-resident may operate a vehicle with a current registration from another state for 60 days.
How do I register my vehicle in Alaska for the first time?
Please submit the following documents to our office in person or along with a notarized Power Of Attorney (POA).
*The title may not be available if the vehicle has a lien.*
How do I renew my vehicle registration?
As the vehicle owner, registration renewal is easy. Simply come in with ID and pay the fees.
If you do not own the vehicle and/or you do not have a POA from the owner than you will need to show your ID and know pertinent vehicle information such as the plate # or serial #. Complete form 812 and pay the fees.
How do I get a Replacement or Duplicate Registration?
Follow the "Registration Renewal" procedures listed above.
As part of the registration process you will typically receive a license plate with tabs, and a registration document.
Registration starts over once it has been expired for a year; or, if the vehicle has been reconstructed; or when the previous owner had a registration exemption. Registration also starts over for non-commercial to commercial vehicles.
Non-Commercial vehicles are registered for a 2 year period. Commercial vehicles have a one year option.
The State of Alaska collects a Motor Vehicle Registration Tax (MVRT) for those municipalities and boroughs that have elected to have this form of personal property tax. The tax rates vary for each location.
Stop by and see us....we are open 10-6 m-f & 12-4 sat
a road motor vehicle, intended for the carriage of passengers and designed to seat no more than nine persons (including the driver)
$100 + TAX
TAX is based on the model year of your vehicle and where you live.
Ex. 2009 /Anchorage $185 2009 /Fairbanks $115 2009 /Kenai $145
fees include TAGS + PLATES & REGISTRATION
Alaska DMV describes a trailer as "a vehicle designed for carrying persons or property and being pulled by a motor vehicle. Be advised that The State of Alaska DMV does NOT title trailer dollys.
Register your trailer PERMANENTLY with a ZTAB...additional cost $35
Add a description about this item