get your seasonal toys ready to play!!!

WATER TOYS!!!!

BOATS

The State of Alaska DMV defines a boat as a watercraft used or capable of being used as a means of transportation on water.


How do I register my boat?    

Please submit the Boat Registration Application (Form 841) along with an Ownership Document.     


*The Ownership Document*  

Must be one of the following items:      Manufacturer Statement of Origin (MSO)      

Carpenter's Certificate  

Bill of Sale from Previous Owner or Dealer   Previous State Title or Registration 

Affidavit of Ownership (Form 848)


Which boats REQUIRE registration in Alaska? *powered boats*   

*non powered boats w/ auxillary power units* 

*ALL sport fishing guide boats*

*powered tenders*


Boats EXEMPT from Registration in Alaska?

*non-powered boats*

*non-boats* 

*boats registered elsewhere*

*gov't owned boats*

*documented boats*


How long is my boat registration valid? 

Boat registration is valid for three years.


*Alaska DMV does NOT title boats*

SNOW TOYS!!!!

SNOW MACHINES  

The State of Alaska DMV defines a snow machine as a vehicle propelled by mechanical power, supported in part by ski's, belts, cleats, or low pressure tires and primarily designed to travel over ice and snow.


NOTE: Per Alaska law Snow Machines are required to be registered, unless they are operated solely on private property.  


How do I register my snow machine?  

Please submit one of the following along with the Title & Registration Application (Form 812)

Bill of Sale  

Warranty Card  

Dealer Purchase Order  


How long can I register my snow machine? 

Snow Machines are registered for 1-3 seasons. 

A snow machine season is two years. 


Snow Machine Registration Fees

ONE SEASON (2 YEARS) $25.00

TWO SEASONS (4 YEARS) $35.00

THREE SEASONS (6 YEARS) $45.00

 


Decal Information

  • The Decal # is the perm registration # 
  • The Decals must not cover the serial #
  • Decals are issued w/ 2 registration tabs


*Alaska DMV does NOT title snow machines*

ALL TERRAIN TOYS!!!!

ALL TERRAIN VEHICLES (ATV's)

The State of Alaska defines an ATV as a vehicle designed or adapted for cross-country operation over unimproved terrain, ice or snow, & which has been determined to be unsuitable for general highway use. and does not include implements of husbandry and special mobile equipment. 


ATV’s CANNOT be modified to be street legal. 


NOTE: Per Alaska law ATVs are not required to be registered. “Registration Only” is issued. 

+

ATV's with low pressure tires may be registered as snow machines.


How do I register my ATV?

Please see the procedures for registering  snow machines. 


How long can I register my ATV?

ATV's are registered for 1-3 seasons. 

An ATV season is two years.


ATV Registration Fees

ONE SEASON (2 YEARS) $25.00

TWO SEASONS (4 YEARS) $35.00

THREE SEASONS (6 YEARS) $45.00


Decal Information

  • The Decal # is the perm registration #
  • The Decals must not cover the serial #
  • Decals are issued w/ 2 registration tabs

*Alaska DMV does NOT title ATVs.